A great live album is always something a bit special as far as I’m concerned, bringing a rawness, energy and atmosphere that is impossible to recreate in the studio. And when both the artist and venue are legendary, that adds even more magic into the mix.

I’ve been a lifelong Campbell fan (due to my father being a fan when I was growing up) and the show saw Campbell thrill a beyond capacity crowd with a mix of his own hits and songs by bands such as Foo Fighters, Lou Reed, Green Day and Tom Petty, resulting in an album which reminds us how good live music feels and just how easily Campbell mixes genres.

The Grammy Lifetime Achievement honouree with three Grammy Hall of Fame awards for “Wichita Lineman,” “By The Time I Get To Phoenix” and “Gentle on My Mind,” the Arkansas-born musician was in fine voice and demonstrating his dexterity on guitar, playing a mixture of “Old songs, new songs and in-between songs!” with a band which included four of his children as well as session musicians known for their work with Beck and Jellyfish amongst others. They sound great!

Campbell’s ‘Live From The Troubadour’ was released on vinyl, CD and DVD on 23 July 2021 and captures the late, great artist’s final performance at the iconic West Hollywood venue on 19 August 2008 (to launch the Meet Glen Campbell album) on its fourteen tracks.

1. All I Want Is You
2. Sing
3. Angel Dream
4. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
5. Walls (Circus)
6. Galveston
7. Jesus
8. Gentle On My Mind
9. Sadly Beautiful
10. Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
11. Wichita Lineman
12. Grow Old With Me
13. Rhinestone Cowboy
14. Times Like These

Highly recommended. I’ve had it on repeat a few times!

You might also be interested in reading ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ – Glen Campbell, RIP